Glen Lake High School Team 2018 Envirothon State Champions

Wednesday, June 20, 2018
A team of Glen Lake High School students, the "Eh Team", took first place in a statewide environmental competition hosted by the Michigan Association of Conservation Districts. The three-day Michigan Envirothon state competition held at Lake Ann Camp concluded on May 23.

The "Eh Team" finished first among 20 teams. As the first-place finisher, they will represent Michigan in the NCF Envirothon competition at Idaho State University in Pocatello, Idaho where they will compete against teams from across the United States, Canada and China from July 22 to 28.

The Envirothon consists of outdoor “eco-stations” for hands-on testing in the areas of forestry, urban forestry, soils, aquatic ecology, wildlife, energy, and agriculture. As part of the competition each team also completes a community outreach project and presents to a panel of judges during the State Competition.

Members of the “Eh” team include LuAnne Dreves, Emma Karagas-Spencer, Carson Reay, Sonja Stairs, and Stella Young. In addition to winning the overall competition, the team also took first place for their community outreach project. Their project focused on climate change and its negative impact on their Northern Michigan community. The team proposed solar energy panels to reduce their school’s contribution to the problem.

Finishing second and third for overall score were the Lorax from Caro High School and the Conservation Commandos Blue from Hillsdale High School respectively. The 20 teams that participated in the state competition qualified through regional contests held around the state throughout the month of March. Through Envirothon, students learn about the environment from conservation professionals working for government, non-profit and for-profit organizations.

Michigan Envirothon is a high school environmental education and community action program administered by the Michigan Association of Conservation Districts, a 501(C)3 non-profit organization. High school students from anywhere in Michigan are eligible to compete.